BMW Sauber Announces They Will Quit Formula 1

BMW Sauber

BMW Sauber

BMW has announced that they will not continue to race in Formula 1 after the 2009 season. The freed up resources will be dedicated to developing new drive technology and projects related to sustainability. BMW will remain active in other less expensive motor sports series such as touring car series and the young driver promotion program in Formula BMW.

BMW did achieve success in Formula 1 over the years. They had eight Formula 1 victories between 1982 and 1985 while with Brabham. BMW won the drivers’ championship in 1983 with Nelson Piquet (Brabham BMW).  BMW Williams racked up 10 victories between 2000-2005 with Williams.

Source: PlanetF1


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: